Clifton College Website

Student Contributions

Emily King
Upper Sixth
Hallward's House

The Spring Concert: Wednesday 23 March 2011

The Spring Concert: Wednesday 23 March 2011

First up on this night of delights was the Jazz Workshop playing Herbie Hancock’s ’Maiden Voyage’, followed by Stanley Turrentine’s ’sugar’ — and what a refreshing way to start a concert. A good combination of jazz piano by Jonah Trenouth, was also accompanied by trumpet and percussion.

Next up was Cello Group, playing Schubert’s ’Theme from String Quartet, Op.29’, continuing the relaxing ambiance that the Jazz Workshop had so commendably established previously. Then, the first Saxophone Quartet took to the stage to perform ’Tango for Lisa’ by Andy Scott and ’Watch Your Step’ by Rob Buckland. Although it actually took a fair amount of time for them to get in tune, this was a sound performance.

After the four saxophonists, Harry Shankar took his place to perform ’Adagio in D’ by Mozart on the flute, accompanied by three string players Da Young Hoang, Felicia Lane and Frances Buist. This melancholic adagio created a sad yet peaceful atmosphere amongst audience members. The second Saxophone group of the night then proceeded to play ’Nice Work If You Can Get It’ by George Gershwin — a more upbeat piece of music, showing off the true potential of the instrument in question. Then we had the piano trio who chose to perform Frank Bridge’s ’Valse Russe’ and ’Hornpipe’, bringing some dance to the night’s proceedings.

Then we were given our first singing in the form of the A Cappella group, with Anna John singing the main solo. Manning Sherwin’s ’A Nightingale Sang in Berkeley Square’ was beautifully sung by both girls and boys and its light-hearted tune was absorbed by all. Then to the third Saxophone group of the night, that only comprised of members of the Sixth Form. They chose to perform Brian Bonsor’s ’Three Into Five’ and did so with vigour and it really felt as though they enjoyed themselves. Last of the quartets was the Clarinet Quartet performing ’Adios Nonino’ by Asturo Piazzolla and ’Oh Lady be Good’ by George Gershwin. It was actually quite nice to hear the clarinet as so often in concerts we don’t actually get to hear it.

Last on the agenda was The Concert Big Band with String Orchestra conducted by Mr Miles. We even had a brief pause before they started where he tearfully took the audience through his Upper Sixth members that, in so many cases, had been playing with him since the Pre. They then proceeded to play ’summer of 42’ by Michael Legrand, ’The Look of Love’ by Hal David and Burt Bacharach (sung by Amelia Streatfield-James), ‘Can’t Take My Eyes Off You’ by Bob Crewe, and finally the infamous ‘Cry Me A River’ by Arthur Hamilton (sung by Jonah Trenouth) — and what a way to finish. I have to say, that as far as I’m concerned, the evening really did illustrate the musical talent that the School harbours, and the natural gift and flair that so many possess, it was truly a pleasure to watch.

6 April 2011

valid xhtml  |  valid css